About the Fort Bend County Toll Road Authority

The Fort Bend County Toll Road Authority (FBCTRA) is managed by a volunteer board made up of 5 members of the community appointed by the Fort Bend County Commissioners Court.

FBCTRA designs, constructs, operates, and maintains the toll roads in Fort Bend County using only toll revenues. No tax money is used to construct or operate the toll roads.

FBCTRA Timeline:

1996 - FBCTRA was established in 1996 by the Fort Bend County Commissioners Court and the Texas Department of Transportation to develop and fund needed transportation projects in Fort Bend County using alternative funding methods.

2004 - FBCTRA opened its first toll road to the travelling public. On August 31, 2004 the Fort Bend Parkway from State Hwy. 6 to Beltway 8 opened.

2005 - FBCTRA opened its second toll road. On August 13, 2005 the Westpark Tollway from FM-1464 to SH-99 opened to the traveling public.

2008 - FBCTRA was the first toll road agency in the United States to completely eliminate cash and go to an all electronic toll collection system in July. This greatly improved safety to the traveling public by eliminating narrow coin lanes and eliminating queues of stopped vehicles waiting to pay tolls.

2010 - Fort Bend County requests primacy from TxDOT to design, construct, and operate the portions of the Grand Parkway within Fort Bend County.

2012 - FBCTRA begins construction of the first of 10 sections of the Grand Parkway in Fort Bend County.

2013 - FBCTRA begins construction of Segment B-1 of the Fort Bend Parkway connecting Sienna Parkway and State Hwy. 6.

2014 - The Fort Bend County portion of the Grand Parkway (Segment D) opens to traffic connecting US-59 to I-10. The project also connects to Grand Parkway Segment E north of I-10 allowing motorist to travel from US-59 to US-290 with no stop lights. Fort Bend Parkway Segment B-1 also opens to traffic.

2015 - FBCTRA implements Toll System Upgrade on Fort Bend Parkway and Westpark Tollway.